That’s probably not what they had in mind…

I was driving through Ohio today, and I saw a church with one of those changeable church signs out front. It read, “Let me be worthy of the price He paid.”

Jesus is coming!

This little prayer refers to the price of our sins, that Jesus paid for through dying on the cross. Now most people might not find that funny, but I did. Because here’s the thing: it would take an awful lot of sin to be worth Christ having to die for it. Thus in effect, the sign is praying for enough sinning to match the value of Jesus’ death.

As my Grandpa would say, “I want you to know that if I have offended you, sir, I wish to thank you.”

2 Responses to “That’s probably not what they had in mind…”

  1. ayates Says:

    This is not a new concept, unfortunately. It dates back to the idea of the felix culpa–“Oh happy fault, that merited such and so great a Redeemer!” Sin becomes the occasion by which we necessitate Christ coming down unto our realm. If we understand the walking of Christ among us as something of great–or even infinite–good, then anything we do to bring that event about can’t be all that bad.

    Right?….

  2. FranIAm Says:

    That’s good- really good. I like your humor and your spirituality intersect and end up in the right place.

    Thanks! I have not been around for a few days. Disorganized would be too generous a description!


Leave a Reply

