Mike Huckabee: Disingenuous

Republican Mike Huckabee has apparently convinced himself that either (a) everybody else is stupid or (b) nobody cares if he lies.

At issue is his crazy denial that his feel-good Christmas television ad, in which he shamelessly exploits his Christianity, intended to show a giant, glowing, white cross in the background–that even moves through the screen during the commercial. (You be the judge. It ain’t rocket science.)

You decide.Now if, as he claims, this was completely unforeseen, Huckabee should fire his ad people immediately. Visual arts pros that can’t even recognize major Christian iconography? For shame!

On the other hand, some of us moonbats can actually imagine that a freakin’ former Southern Baptist pastor might indulge in a little Christian pandering now and then. You tell me which is the likelier scenario–nobody noticed, or it was intentional?

Here’s the thing: just as with the Spirit Air/MILF stuff down below, I’m not condemning the content of these ads, but the damned lies being told in the cover-up. Especially coming from a (former) man of the cloth, that’s just crappy.

Plus, as a Christian myself, that’s not very courageous. If Huckabee wants to take that route, why not claim the cross proudly, instead of hiding it? It’s not like the absurd denials are helping him save face. Furthermore, I’ll bet some Christian voters think he’s being a little spineless right now–like me, though I’m less concerned about his relationship with God (his business) than his relationship with the truth (America’s business).

9 Responses to “Mike Huckabee: Disingenuous”

  1. wongton85 Says:

    whoa very nice

  2. Tom Ryberg Says:

    Thanks, and thanks for visiting!

  3. liz Says:

    well said

  4. Carey Says:

    It’s easy to judge someone else’s motives when you are NOT that someone else. How do YOU (or any of us) know what Huckabee intended?

    I watched the video the first day I realized it was available… and didn’t notice the cross at all! (and I’m a Pastor) I showed it to my wife… she didn’t notice it at all! When I heard all this hubub about it, I watched again and did notice it, and the explanation of it just being a bookshelf on the set is very reasonable… CAUSE THAT’S WHAT IT IS

    I thought he was bold in the first place to go against the cultural tide by saying “the important thing is the birth of Chirst” and “Merry Christmas” in the first place. Before we look for subliminal messages and attack him for it, let’s deal with what he ACTUALLY SAID! The cross thing is very small in comparison – if he had intended it to be there I don’t think he’d have ANY PROBLEM saying so…

  5. Tom Ryberg Says:

    Hi Carey and Liz, thanks for dropping by, and for your comments.

    Carey, I will admit that I do not know with 100% certainty what Huckabee’s real motives are here. However, knowing what little I do about advertising, symbols, and product placement, I am very skeptical that none of his media people caught this. Remember, these are the people who are paid to do exactly what this ad does–construct a positive aura around your product/politician/whatever, using any and all overt and less obvious clues that are available.

    At the end of the day, this only matters to the extent that viewers care about it. I mean, you saw this ad for yourself and decided for yourself, and that’s fine. I, however, can’t agree with your conclusion on this issue, but that’s fine too.

    Peace,
    Tom

  6. FranIAm Says:

    What a great post. Most of my blog circle is very secular and many are atheists. I don’t have a problem with that frankly – that is why we live in a democracy, at least last time I checked.

    I am really sick of the whole over the top and superficial (IMHO) focus on the faith of the candidates. What of it? What actions are we shown that will help us determine if the candidate is a good person with courage and actual values? You can see what I had to say about this topic here if you wish.

    Anyway, I think that Huckabee appears to be doing a lot of pandering here and it seems insincere to me. Like you said- if you are truly about the cross, then be out there with it. Or not.

    I am dismayed by the mixed messages I see from him… For example, that original Chuck Norris ad was not the stuff of a presidential candidate.

    Sadly, I do not see too much moral courage out there among those running. And to me, at least in my viewpoint as a person of faith, I want to see someone really believe in something and be able to show that.

    A friend of mine who is a Lutheran pastor has a saying that her grandfather used to use, attributed to Martin Luther. It goes something to the effect of “I’d rather be ruled by a smart Turk, than a stupid Christian.” I agree.

    A lot of what candidates say are “values” are really positions. Values are harder to define and to live. I’d like to see more of that, but I am not sure I will. And I am not a cynic, but I sound like one today.

    Sorry for the long ramble, I do tend to get worked up about this.

    Great post on your great blog!

  7. littlebangtheory Says:

    What She Said!

  8. FranIAm Says:

    Just came by to wish you a blessed Christmas Tom!

  9. -30- Says:

    Tom, if you left a comment on my site about this Huckabee ad, I think it just got deleted as spam. My apologies. Please try again.


Leave a Reply

